Graduate student directory

Michelle AudieMichelle Audie

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Urban forest ecohydrology

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
michelle.audie@wsu.edu


Leland Bennion

M.S. Biology

Conservation Biology
leland.bennion@wsu.edu


Ben BolamBen Bolam

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Aquatic invasive species and plankton ecology. My thesis is focused on the invasive Asian clam, Corbicula fluminea, and its feeding habits in the Columbia River. As a filter feeder capable of processing large quantities of water, if the clam selects for certain sizes and taxa of phytoplankton, it could have a strong influence on plankton dynamics in the Pacific Northwest.

Aquatic Ecology
benjamin.bolam@wsu.edu


Lauren BurnsLauren Burns

M.S. Environmental Science

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
lauren.burns@wsu.edu


Samantha BussanSamantha Bussan

M.S. Biology

Conservation Biology
samantha.bussan@wsu.edu


Greg ClarkGreg Clark

M.S. Environmental Science

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
gregory.clark@wsu.edu


Kristen ConnellyKristen Connelly

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Zooplankton dynamics and landscape ecology in the Columbia River Estuary.

Aquatic Microbial Ecology
kristin.connelly@wsu.edu


Kimberly CookKimberly Cook

Ph.D. Zoology

Community Ecology Lab
kimberly.j.cook@wsu.edu


Sofia D'AmbrosioSofia D'Ambrosio

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: The effects of human management on methane emissions from reservoirs in the Pacific Northwest.

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry
sofia.dambrosio@wsu.edu


Eric DexterEric Dexter

Ph.D. Environment and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: The causes and consequences of zooplankton invasions in bodies of water across the Pacific Northwest.

Aquatic Ecology
eric.dexter@wsu.edu


Srijanie DeySrijanie Dey

Ph.D. Mathematics

Research: Interests include data science, machine learning, neural information processing and computational mathematics.

Mathematical and Computational Neuroscience
srijaniedey@wsu.edu


Noah DossNoah Doss

Ph.D. Mathematics

Research: While I’ve yet to start research, my focus will be on mathematical approaches to problems in neuroscience, continuing from similar projects that I’d done in undergrad. While I will be working with applied mathematics, I derive most of my mathematical joy from pure math and all its weirdness.

Mathematical and Computational Neuroscience
noah.doss@wsu.edu


Maryam Ehsani-Banafti

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Biology
m.ehsanibanafti@wsu.edu


Katey EllisKatey Ellis

M.S. Mathematics

Statistical Ecology
katelynn.ellis@wsu.edu


Will ForneyWill Forney

Research: Multi-scaled investigation of climate and land use change impacts on water quantity and quality dynamics in the Columbia River Basin.

Global Change and Biogeochemistry
william.forney@wsu.edu


Taylor HaskinsTaylor Haskins

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

Salmon Toxicology Laboratory
taylor.p.haskins@wsu.edu


Tamasen Hayward

M.S. Zoology

Neurobiology of Cells and Hearing
t-fern.tervo@wsu.edu


Jeff Hoyt

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Hearing and Communication Lab


Alexandria HudsonAlexandria Hudson

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Research: Hearing loss prevention

Neurobiology of Cells and Hearing
alexandria.camino@wsu.edu


Cori KaneCori Kane

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research: Abundance and distribution of coral reef fishes at mesophotic depths (30+ meters) and the potential of mesophotic coral reefs to act as refugia for impacted shallow coral reef fishes and other organisms.

Benthic Ecology
corinne.kane@wsu.edu


Sarah KintnerSarah Kintner

Ph.D. Environmental Science

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry Research and
Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
sarah.kintner@wsu.edu


Ben LeonardBen Leonard

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Research: As part of the aquatic toxicology laboratory in Puyallup I focus on developing innovative and interdisciplinary ways to study stormwater pollution. I am currently evaluating roadside bioswales for treating pollution, testing remote monitoring techniques for green infrastructure, and analyzing zebrafish stormwater bioassays.

Salmon Toxicology Lab
benjamin.leonard@wsu.edu


Zoie LopezZoie Lopez

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Stephanie Porter Lab
zoie.lopez@wsu.edu


Andrew McIntyreAndrew McIntyre

M.S. Biology

Research: Forest thinning treatments and their effects on local amphibian populations in the Lassen National Forest.

Community Ecology
andrew.mcintyre@wsu.edu


Niall MillarNiall Millar

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Research: Plant-soil-insect interactions, mutualisms, the past and future patterns of evolution of plants and microbes, and how climate change and land management can affect how these organisms interact.

Microbial Ecology
niall.millar@wsu.edu


Chelsea MitchellChelsea Mitchell

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

Research: Environmental risk assessment using population modeling to estimate the dynamics of toxicant risk to endangered species across space and time.

Salmon Toxicology Lab
chelsea.mitchell@wsu.edu


James MooreJames Moore

Ph.D. Zoology

Research: Studying insect community on Mt. St. Helens.

Disturbance Ecology
jmoore25@wsu.edu


Nicolette NelsonNicolette Nelson

Ph.D. Biology

Research: The ability of montane wetland restoration to benefit amphibian populations.

Community Ecology
nicolette.nelson@wsu.edu


Samantha NeufferSamantha Neuffer

Ph.D. Molecular Biosciences

Zebrafish Pigment Cell Biology
samneuffer@wsu.edu


Jeff NielsonJeffrey Nielson

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Jeff is interested in internal waves and mixing in lakes. He is currently finding that a simple model, based on an entrainment-velocity closure, can be used to predict observed thickening of near-bed mixed layers, which will allow the prediction of rates of irreversible boundary layer mixing. His research is funded by the National Science Foundation.

Environmental Hydrodynamics
jeffrey.nielson@wsu.edu


Sean Nolan

M.S. Environmental Science

Aquatic Ecology Lab
sean.nolan@wsu.edu


Felicia Olmeta-SchultFelicia Olmeta-Schult

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Social-ecological study of the northern California coast (NCC) marine protected area (MPA) network. Investigation of the NCC MPA planning process and MPA effects on NCC fishing communities.

Benthic Ecology
folmeta@wsu.edu


Jasmine PratJasmine Prat

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

Stormwater Research
jasmine.prat@wsu.edu


Luke Reyes

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Environmental Chemistry
luke.reyes@wsu.edu


Vanessa RoseVanessa Rose

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Examining the interactive effects of elevated nutrient levels and zooplankton grazing on cyanobacteria blooms across a range of eutrophication in four Washington freshwater lakes.

Benthic Ecology
vanessa.rose@wsu.edu


Corey RuderCorey Ruder

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Global Change and Biogeochemistry
corey.ruder@wsu.edu


Olga Rumyantseva

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Ecology and Environmental Modeling
olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu


Nathaniel SaulNathaniel Saul

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology
Personal site
nathaniel.saul@wsu.edu


Alex Stambor

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Environmental Chemistry
alex.stambor@wsu.edu


Phil SteenstraPhil Steenstra

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Tungsten toxicity in the Environment

Mathematical Ecology and Environmental Modeling
philip.steenstra@wsu.edu


Katie SwensenKatie Swensen

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research: Numerical modeling of soil-plant-water interactions, particularly "green water" and "blue water" dynamics in post-fire forest ecosystems.

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Natural Resource Sciences
kswensen@wsu.edu


Phil UribePhil Uribe

Ph.D. Neuroscience - Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience

Research: Understanding the molecular mechanisms of hair cell death in the larval zebrafish lateral line

Hair Cells and Hearing Laboratory
phillip.uribe@wsu.edu


Jude WaitJude Wait

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Resilience of small-scale food farming in urbanizing regions. Specifically, how management practices and socioeconomic strategies of small-scale farmers affect the capacity of direct-market farms to produce food sustainably.

Urban Systems and Agroecology
judith.wait@wsu.edu