Graduate student directory

Leland Bennion

M.S. Biology

Conservation Biology
leland.bennion@wsu.edu


Ben BolamBen Bolam

M.S. Environmental Science

Aquatic Ecology
benjamin.bolam@wsu.edu


Lauren BurnsLauren Burns

M.S. Environmental Science

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
lauren.burns@wsu.edu


Samantha BussanSamantha Bussan

M.S. Biology

Conservation Biology
samantha.bussan@wsu.edu


Alexandria CaminoAlexandria Camino

Ph.D. Neurology

Neurobiology of Cells and Hearing
alexandria.camino@wsu.edu


Greg ClarkGreg Clark

M.S. Environmental Science

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
gregory.clark@wsu.edu


Kimberly CookKimberly Cook

Ph.D. Zoology

Community Ecology Lab
kimberly.j.cook@wsu.edu


Sofia D'AmbrosioSofia D'Ambrosio

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: The effects of human management on methane emissions from reservoirs in the Pacific Northwest.

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry
sofia.dambrosio@wsu.edu


Eric DexterEric Dexter

Ph.D. Environment and Natural Resource Science - Fulbright Fellow

Research: Tracking the spread of invasive aquatic microorganisms (copepods) in the Pacific Northwest. 

Aquatic Ecology
eric.dexter@wsu.edu


Maryam Ehsani Banafti

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Biology
m.ehsanibanafti@wsu.edu


Katey EllisKatey Ellis

M.S. Mathematics

katelynn.ellis@wsu.edu


Will ForneyWill Forney

Research: Multi-scaled investigation of climate and land use change impacts on water quantity and quality dynamics in the Columbia River Basin.

Global Change and Biogeochemistry
william.forney@wsu.edu


Craig HaskellCraig Haskell

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Effects of a non-native anadromous fish, American Shad, on Columbia River food webs.

Aquatic Ecology
craig.haskell@wsu.edu


Taylor HaskinsTaylor Haskins

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

taylor.p.haskins@wsu.edu


Tamasen Hayward

M.S. Zoology

Neurobiology of Cells and Hearing
t-fern.tervo@wsu.edu


Jeff Hoyt

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Hearing and Communication Lab


Ram KandasamyRam Kandasamy

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Neural Mechanisms of Morphine Tolerance Lab
ram_kandasamy@wsu.edu


Cori KaneCori Kane

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Abundance and distribution of coral reef fishes at mesophotic depths (30+ meters) and the potential of mesophotic coral reefs to act as refugia for impacted shallow coral reef fishes and other organisms.

Benthic Ecology
corinne.kane@wsu.edu


Sarah KintnerSarah Kintner

Ph.D. Environmental Science

sarah.kintner@wsu.edu


Matt LambertMatt Lambert

Ph.D. Zoology

Research:  Melanocyte development in zebrafish to understand the mechanisms directing differentiation and programmed cell death.

Zebrafish Genetics Laboratory
matthew.lambert@wsu.edu


Zoie LopezZoie Lopez

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Stephanie Porter Lab
zoie.lopez@wsu.edu


Elena MahrtElena Mahrt

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Research: Neural mechanisms underlying social vocalization processing in the midbrain of laboratory mammals. Specifically, how mammals produce and use acoustic communication to facilitate conspecific interactions in mice and bats.

Hearing and Communication
emahrt@wsu.edu


Mailea Miller-PierceMailea Miller-Pierce

Ph.D. Zoology

Disturbance Ecology Lab
m.miller-pierce@wsu.edu


Chelsea Mitchell

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

chelsea.mitchell@wsu.edu


James MooreJames Moore

Ph.D. Zoology

Research: Studying insect community on Mt. St. Helens.

Disturbance Ecology
jmoore25@wsu.edu


Sahar NesaeiSahar Nesaei

Ph.D. Mathematics

Bala Krishnamoorthy Lab
sahar.neseai@wsu.edu


Sepideh NesaeiSepideh Nesaei

Ph.D. Mathematics

Bala Krishnamoorthy Lab
sepideh.neseai@wsu.edu


Samantha NeufferSamantha Neuffer

Ph.D. Molecular Biosciences

Zebrafish Pigment Cell Biology
samneuffer@wsu.edu


Jeffrey Nielson

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Environmental Hydrodynamics
jeffrey.nielson@wsu.edu


Sean Nolan

M.S. Environmental Science

Aquatic Ecology Lab
sean.nolan@wsu.edu


Reed NortonReed Norton

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: The relationships between climate change, land use, green infrastructure, and water quality in the Portland-Vancouver metro area.

Global Change and Biogeochemistry
reed.norton@wsu.edu


Felicia Olmeta-SchultFelicia Olmeta-Schult

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Social-ecological study of a marine protected areas (MPAs) network in Northern California: conflict and social network assessment.

Benthic Ecology
folmeta@wsu.edu


Benjamin RaponeBenjamin Rapone

Ph.D. Mathematics

Bala Krishnamoorthy Lab
benjamin.rapone@wsu.edu


Luke Reyes

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Kramer Lab
luke.reyes@wsu.edu


Sean RooneySean Rooney

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Ecology of structure forming deep-sea corals and sponges in Oregon and Washington and their role as physical habitat for demersal groundfish.

Benthic Ecology
srooney@wsu.edu


Vanessa RoseVanessa Rose

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Examining the interactive effects of elevated nutrient levels and zooplankton grazing on cyanobacteria blooms across a range of eutrophication in four Washington freshwater lakes.

Benthic Ecology
vanessa.rose@wsu.edu


Corey RuderCorey Ruder

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Global Change and Biogeochemistry
corey.ruder@wsu.edu


Megan SlakerMegan Slaker

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Research: Role of extracellular matrix contributes in learning and memory. Specifically, the role of perineuronal nets in drug-associated behavior and memory.

Neuroscience profile
megan.slaker@wsu.edu


Joey SmokeyJoey Smokey

Research: Working with the endangered Fender's Blue butterfly combining field work with spatially-explicit agent based models to help explore and answer restoration questions and influence landscape management decisions in the butterfly's heavily-degraded prairie habitat.

Conservation Biology
joey_smokey@wsu.edu


Cameron Thomas

Cameron Thomas

Research: Metapopulation dynamics and food web interactions of target species in the Pacific Northwest, specifically related to threatened and endangered butterflies.

Conservation Biology
cameron.thomas@wsu.edu


Phil UribePhil Uribe

Ph.D. Neuroscience - Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience

Research: Understanding the molecular mechanisms of hair cell death in the larval zebrafish lateral line

Hair Cells and Hearing Laboratory
phillip.uribe@wsu.edu


Jude WaitJude Wait

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Resilience of small-scale food farming in urbanizing regions. Specifically, how management practices and socioeconomic strategies of small-scale farmers affect the capacity of direct-market farms to produce food sustainably.

Urban Systems and Agroecology
judith.wait@wsu.edu


Anthony WenkeAnthony Wenke

M.S. Botany

Research: Vegetation development and the role of plant functional traits in primary successional sites on Mount St. Helens.

Distrubance Ecology
anthony.wenke@wsu.edu