Graduate student directory

Jesse BurgerJesse Burgher

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Applications of environmental DNA techniques in American beaver translocation and conservation of freshwater ecosystems.

Community Ecology Lab
jesse.burgher@wsu.edu


Samantha BussanSamantha Bussan

Ph.D. Biology

Conservation Biology
samantha.bussan@wsu.edu


Sky ButtonSky Button

Ph.D. Biology

Community Ecology Lab
sky.button@wsu.edu


Srijanie DeySrijanie Dey

Ph.D. Mathematics

Research: Interests include data science, machine learning, neural information processing and computational mathematics.

Mathematical and Computational Neuroscience
srijanie.dey@wsu.edu


Rebecca EvansRebecca Evans

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Becca is a Ph.D. student studying the effects of atmospheric nitrogen deposition in primary succession in the Bishop lab. She is particularly interested in the interactions between the role of nitrogen deposition and invasive invertebrate herbivores on biogeochemical cycles and soil microbiology.

Disturbance Ecology
rebecca.c.evans@wsu.edu


Fabiana Ferracina

Ph.D. Statistical Sciences

Research: Development and application of hierarchical hidden Markov models to study animal behavior.

Krishnamoorthy Research Lab
fabiana.ferracina@wsu.edu


Rebekah GaxiolaRebekah Gaxiola

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Effects of nitrogen deposition on plant-insect interactions in the Columbia River Gorge.

Disturbance Ecology
rebekah.gaxiola@wsu.edu


Angela GonzalezAngela Gonzalez

M.S. Neuroscience

Research: My focus is the role of perineuronal nets in cocaine-associated memory.

Cellular and Molecular Factors of Cocaine Addiction
angela.gonzalez@wsu.edu


Madhulika Gurazada

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Climate Change and Climate Impacts
madhulika.gurazada@wsu.edu


Alysha HendersonAlysha Henderson

M.S. Biology

Community Ecology Lab
alysha.henderson@wsu.edu


No photo availableJeff Hoyt

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Hearing and Communication Lab
jeffrey.hoyt@wsu.edu


No photo availableCoty Jasper

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Neurobiology of hair cells
coty.jasper@wsu.edu


Dmitri KalashnikovDmitri Kalashnikov

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Climate Change and Climate Impacts
dmitri.kalashnikov@wsu.edu


Kelsey KingKelsey King

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Changes in phenology and ecology of an at-risk butterfly in the Puget Sound.

Conservation Biology
kelsey.king@wsu.edu


Brittany LeTendreBrittany LeTendre

M.S. Plant Biology

Microbial Ecology Lab
brittany.letendre@wsu.edu


Nathan MayNathan May

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology
nathan.may@wsu.edu


Niall MillarNiall Millar

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Research: Plant-soil-insect interactions, mutualisms, the past and future patterns of evolution of plants and microbes, and how climate change and land management can affect how these organisms interact.

Microbial Ecology
niall.millar@wsu.edu


Angeliqua MontoyaAngeliqua Montoya

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Genetics that code for cooperative traits in bacterial symbionts, mutualisms, and plant-microbe interactions.

Stephanie Porter Lab
angeliqua.montoya@wsu.edu


Jeff NielsonJeffrey Nielson

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Jeff is interested in internal waves and mixing in lakes. He is currently finding that a simple model, based on an entrainment-velocity closure, can be used to predict observed thickening of near-bed mixed layers, which will allow the prediction of rates of irreversible boundary layer mixing. His research is funded by the National Science Foundation.

Environmental Hydrodynamics
jeffrey.nielson@wsu.edu


Jacob PenningtonJake Pennington

M.S. Mathematics

Research: Computational neuroscience. Currently working with data from ferret primary auditory cortex to study nonlinear auditory encoding models. Future work will likely focus on implementing generalized leaky integrate-and-fire models in neuromorphic hardware.

Quantitative Neuroscience
jacob.pennington@wsu.edu


Garrett Price

M.S. Environmental Science

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
garrett.price@wsu.edu


Dylan QuinnDylan Quinn

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Post-fire Hydrology and Numerical Surface Water Modeling. Focused on post-fire soil recovery and the ecohydrological evolution after wildfire disturbances.

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
dylan.quinn@wsu.edu


Luke ReyesLuke Reyes

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research: Using stable isotopes to study chemical cycling in the critical zone, especially the transformations and fate of soil carbon in response to climate change.

Environmental Chemistry
luke.reyes@wsu.edu


Salvador Robb-ChavezSalvador Robb-Chavez

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Aquatic invasive species in the Columbia River, specifically the habitat association characteristics of the Asian clam Corbicula fluminea and local monitoring efforts for other invasive bivalves.

Aquatic Ecology and Biological Oceanography
sbchavez@wsu.edu


Rikeem SholesRikeem Sholes

Ph.D. Biology

Coffin Neurobiology Lab
rikeem.sholes@wsu.edu


Katie SwensenKatherine Swensen

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research: Studying effects of recurrent wildfire on soil-plant-water interactions in montane forested ecosystems.

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Natural Resource Sciences
k.swensen@wsu.edu


Elizabeth ThompsonElizabeth Thompson

Ph.D. Mathematics

Krishnamoorthy Research Lab
elizabeth.thompson1@wsu.edu


Elsa ToskeyElsa Toskey

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Ecology of stream invertebrates on the Olympic Peninsula in relation to various forestry management practices.

Aquatic Ecology Lab
elsa.toskey@wsu.edu


Lea WilsonLea Wilson

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Ecohydrology of the urban forest; climate change impacts on the urban forest; social-ecological resiliency in the urban forest.

Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
lea.wilson@wsu.edu


Zoe WilsonZoe Wilson

Ph.D. Biology

Microbial Ecology Lab
zoe.wilson@wsu.edu


Bianca Wong RodriguezBianca Wong Rodriguez

Ecohydrology Lab
b.wongrodriguez@wsu.edu