Graduate student directory

Michelle AudieMichelle Audie

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Urban forest ecohydrology

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics

michelle.audie@wsu.edu


Stephanie BlairStephanie Blair

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Ecotoxicology program

stephanie.blair@wsu.edu


Lauren BurnsLauren Burns

M.S. Environmental Science

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics

lauren.burns@wsu.edu


Samantha BussanSamantha Bussan

Ph.D. Biology

Conservation Biology

samantha.bussan@wsu.edu


Kristen ConnellyKristen Connelly

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Zooplankton dynamics and landscape ecology in the Columbia River Estuary.

Aquatic Microbial Ecology

kristin.connelly@wsu.edu


Kimberly CookKimberly Cook

Ph.D. Biology

Community Ecology Lab

kimberly.j.cook@wsu.edu


Sofia D'AmbrosioSofia D'Ambrosio

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Methane dynamics in lakes and reservoirs of the Pacific Northwest.

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry

sofia.dambrosio@wsu.edu


Eric DexterEric Dexter

Ph.D. Environment and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: The causes and consequences of zooplankton invasions in bodies of water across the Pacific Northwest.

Aquatic Ecology

eric.dexter@wsu.edu


Srijanie DeySrijanie Dey

Ph.D. Mathematics

Research: Interests include data science, machine learning, neural information processing and computational mathematics.

Mathematical and Computational Neuroscience

srijanie.dey@wsu.edu


Noah DossNoah Doss

Ph.D. Mathematics

Research: While I’ve yet to start research, my focus will be on mathematical approaches to problems in neuroscience, continuing from similar projects that I’d done in undergrad. While I will be working with applied mathematics, I derive most of my mathematical joy from pure math and all its weirdness.

Mathematical and Computational Neuroscience

noah.doss@wsu.edu


Maryam Ehsani-Banafti

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology

m.ehsanibanafti@wsu.edu


Rebecca EvansRebecca Evans

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Becca is a Ph.D. student studying the effects of atmospheric nitrogen deposition in primary succession in the Bishop lab. She is particularly interested in the interactions between the role of nitrogen deposition and invasive invertebrate herbivores on biogeochemical cycles and soil microbiology.

Disturbance Ecology

rebecca.c.evans@wsu.edu


Fabiana Ferracina

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Ecology

fabiana.ferracina@wsu.edu


Will Forney

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Multi-scaled investigation of climate and land use change impacts on water quantity and quality dynamics in the Columbia River Basin.

Global Change and Biogeochemistry

william.forney@wsu.edu


Rebekah GaxiolaRebekah Gaxiola

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Effects of nitrogen deposition on plant-insect interactions in the Columbia River Gorge.

Disturbance Ecology

rebekah.gaxiola@wsu.edu


Angela GonzalezAngela Gonzalez

M.S. Neuroscience

Cellular and Molecular Factors of Cocaine Addiction

Research: My focus is the role of perineuronal nets in cocaine-associated memory.

angela.gonzalez@wsu.edu


Samantha GriegarSamantha Grieger

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Reservoir management influences on downstream nutrient dynamics in the Columbia River Basin.

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry

samantha.grieger@wsu.edu


Summer Henricksen

M.S. Environmental Science

Aquatic Ecology

summer.henricksen@wsu.edu


Jeff Hoyt

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Hearing and Communication Lab

jeffrey.hoyt@wsu.edu


Alexandria HudsonAlexandria Hudson

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Research: Hearing loss prevention

Neurobiology of hair cells

alexandria.hudson@wsu.edu


Kelsey KingKelsey King

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Changes in phenology and ecology of an at-risk butterfly in the Puget Sound.

Conservation Biology

kelsey.king@wsu.edu


Sarah KintnerSarah Kintner

Ph.D. Environmental Science

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry Research and 
Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics

sarah.kintner@wsu.edu


Ben LeonardBen Leonard

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Research: As part of the aquatic toxicology laboratory in Puyallup I focus on developing innovative and interdisciplinary ways to study stormwater pollution. I am currently evaluating roadside bioswales for treating pollution, testing remote monitoring techniques for green infrastructure, and analyzing zebrafish stormwater bioassays.

Salmon Toxicology Lab

benjamin.leonard@wsu.edu


Zoie LopezZoie Lopez

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Stephanie Porter Lab

zoie.lopez@wsu.edu


Lane MaguireLane Maguire

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

Research: Lane received her B.S. from the University of Oklahoma in December 2017 and will be studying the longevity of bioretention performance for her M.S. program with the Washington Stormwater Center.

Ecotoxicology Program

lane.maguire@wsu.edu


Nathan MayNathan May

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology

nathan.may@wsu.edu


Andrew McIntyreAndrew McIntyre

M.S. Biology

Research: Forest thinning treatments and their effects on local amphibian populations in the Lassen National Forest.

Community Ecology

andrew.mcintyre@wsu.edu


Niall MillarNiall Millar

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Research: Plant-soil-insect interactions, mutualisms, the past and future patterns of evolution of plants and microbes, and how climate change and land management can affect how these organisms interact.

Microbial Ecology

niall.millar@wsu.edu


Chelsea MitchellChelsea Mitchell

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Research: Environmental risk assessment using population modeling to estimate the dynamics of toxicant risk to endangered species across space and time.

Ecotoxicology Program

chelsea.mitchell@wsu.edu


Angeliqua MontoyaAngeliqua Montoya

Ph.D. Biology

Research: I'm interested in the genetics that code for cooperative traits in bacterial symbionts, mutualisms, and plant-microbe interactions.

Stephanie Porter Lab

angeliqua.montoya@wsu.edu


Nicolette NelsonNicolette Nelson

Ph.D. Biology

Research: The ability of montane wetland restoration to benefit amphibian populations.

Community Ecology

nicolette.nelson@wsu.edu


Samantha NeufferSamantha Neuffer

Ph.D. Molecular Biosciences

Zebrafish Pigment Cell Biology

samneuffer@wsu.edu


Jeff NielsonJeffrey Nielson

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Jeff is interested in internal waves and mixing in lakes. He is currently finding that a simple model, based on an entrainment-velocity closure, can be used to predict observed thickening of near-bed mixed layers, which will allow the prediction of rates of irreversible boundary layer mixing. His research is funded by the National Science Foundation.

Environmental Hydrodynamics

jeffrey.nielson@wsu.edu


Felicia Olmeta-SchultFelicia Olmeta-Schult

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Social-ecological study of the northern California coast (NCC) marine protected area (MPA) network. Investigation of the NCC MPA planning process and MPA effects on NCC fishing communities.

Benthic Ecology

folmeta@wsu.edu


Jasmine PratJasmine Prat

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

Stormwater Research

jasmine.prat@wsu.edu


Dylan QuinnDylan Quinn

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Post-fire Hydrology and Numerical Surface Water Modeling.

My current research is focused on post-fire soil recovery and the ecohydrological evolution after wildfire disturbances. Among many other tools, I use numerical models to explore the cascading consequences of wildfire including post-fire flooding, erosion, and water quality.

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics

dylan.quinn@wsu.edu


Luke ReyesLuke Reyes

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Using stable isotopes to study chemical cycling in the critical zone, especially the transformations and fate of soil carbon in response to climate change.

Environmental Chemistry

luke.reyes@wsu.edu


Vanessa RoseVanessa Rose

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Examining the interactive effects of elevated nutrient levels and zooplankton grazing on cyanobacteria blooms across a range of eutrophication in four Washington freshwater lakes.

Aquatic Ecology

vanessa.rose@wsu.edu


Corey RuderCorey Ruder

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Global Change and Biogeochemistry

corey.ruder@wsu.edu


Olga Rumyantseva

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Ecology and Environmental Modeling

olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu


Nathaniel SaulNathaniel Saul

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology
Personal site

nathaniel.saul@wsu.edu


Alex Stambor

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Environmental Chemistry

alex.stambor@wsu.edu


Phil SteenstraPhil Steenstra

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Tungsten toxicity in the Environment

Mathematical Ecology and Environmental Modeling

philip.steenstra@wsu.edu


Kathryn SweeneyKathryn Sweeney

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Exploring the dynamics of harmful cyanobacterial blooms in the Columbia River Basin. My work may focus on researching the roles of Rotifera zooplankton related to the frequency and intensity of harmful cyanobacterial blooms.

Aquatic Ecology Lab

kathryn.sweeney@wsu.edu


Katie SwensenKatherine Swensen

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research:

Studying effects of recurrent wildfire on soil-plant-water interactions in montane forested ecosystems.

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Natural Resource Sciences

k.swensen@wsu.edu


Jude WaitJude Wait

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Resilience of small-scale food farming in urbanizing regions. Specifically, how management practices and socioeconomic strategies of small-scale farmers affect the capacity of direct-market farms to produce food sustainably.

Urban Systems and Agroecology

judith.wait@wsu.edu