Graduate student directory

Michelle AudieMichelle Audie

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Urban forest ecohydrology

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
michelle.audie@wsu.edu


No photo availableLori Babbick

M.S. Mathematics

Computational algebraic topology
lori_beck@wsu.edu


Stephanie BlairStephanie Blair

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Ecotoxicology program
stephanie.blair@wsu.edu


Samantha BussanSamantha Bussan

Ph.D. Biology

Conservation Biology
samantha.bussan@wsu.edu


Kristen ConnellyKristen Connelly

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Zooplankton dynamics and landscape ecology in the Columbia River Estuary.

Aquatic Microbial Ecology
kristin.connelly@wsu.edu


Kimberly CookKimberly Cook

Ph.D. Biology

Community Ecology Lab
kimberly.j.cook@wsu.edu


Sofia D'AmbrosioSofia D'Ambrosio

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Methane dynamics in lakes and reservoirs of the Pacific Northwest.

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry
sofia.dambrosio@wsu.edu


Srijanie DeySrijanie Dey

Ph.D. Mathematics

Research: Interests include data science, machine learning, neural information processing and computational mathematics.

Mathematical and Computational Neuroscience
srijanie.dey@wsu.edu


Cassandra DollCassandra Doll

M.S. Biology

Research: Evaluating the efficacy of using herbicides as a resoration tool in Oregon silverspot butterfly habitat.

Conservation Biology
cassandra.doll@wsu.edu


Rebecca EvansRebecca Evans

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Becca is a Ph.D. student studying the effects of atmospheric nitrogen deposition in primary succession in the Bishop lab. She is particularly interested in the interactions between the role of nitrogen deposition and invasive invertebrate herbivores on biogeochemical cycles and soil microbiology.

Disturbance Ecology
rebecca.c.evans@wsu.edu


Fabiana Ferracina

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Ecology
fabiana.ferracina@wsu.edu


Rebekah GaxiolaRebekah Gaxiola

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Effects of nitrogen deposition on plant-insect interactions in the Columbia River Gorge.

Disturbance Ecology
rebekah.gaxiola@wsu.edu


Angela GonzalezAngela Gonzalez

M.S. Neuroscience

Research: My focus is the role of perineuronal nets in cocaine-associated memory.

Cellular and Molecular Factors of Cocaine Addiction
angela.gonzalez@wsu.edu


Samantha GriegarSamantha Grieger

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Reservoir management influences on downstream nutrient dynamics in the Columbia River Basin.

Global Change and Watershed Biogeochemistry
samantha.grieger@wsu.edu


Mary Hebert

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology
mary.hebert@wsu.edu


Summer Henricksen

M.S. Environmental Science

Aquatic Ecology
summer.henricksen@wsu.edu


Jeff Hoyt

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Hearing and Communication Lab
jeffrey.hoyt@wsu.edu


Alexandria HudsonAlexandria Hudson

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Research: Hearing loss prevention

Neurobiology of hair cells
alexandria.hudson@wsu.edu


Jade JacobsJade Jacobs

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Ecology and of an invasive copepod in estuaries of the Pacific Northwest

Aquatic Ecology
jade.jacobs@wsu.edu


Coty Jasper

Ph.D. Neuroscience

Neurobiology of hair cells
coty.jasper@wsu.edu


Kelsey KingKelsey King

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Changes in phenology and ecology of an at-risk butterfly in the Puget Sound.

Conservation Biology
kelsey.king@wsu.edu


Ben LeonardBen Leonard

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Research: Focus on developing innovative and interdisciplinary ways to study stormwater pollution. Currently evaluating roadside bioswales for treating pollution, testing remote monitoring techniques for green infrastructure, and analyzing zebrafish stormwater bioassays.

Salmon Toxicology Lab
benjamin.leonard@wsu.edu


Roxanne Lindgren

Ph.D. Mathematics

Statistical Ecology
roxanne.lindgren@wsu.edu


Zoie LopezZoie Lopez

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Stephanie Porter Lab
zoie.lopez@wsu.edu


Lane MaguireLane Maguire

M.S. Environmental Science (Puyallup)

Research: Longevity of bioretention performance.

Ecotoxicology Program
lane.maguire@wsu.edu


Navajyoth Manjeri PuthiyaveettilNavajyoth Manjeri Puthiyaveettil

Ph.D. Environmental Science

Research: Climate change, climate extremes, and impacts

Climate Change and Climate Impacts
n.manjeriputhiyavee@wsu.edu


Nathan MayNathan May

Ph.D. Mathematics

Computational Algebraic Topology
nathan.may@wsu.edu


Andrew McIntyreAndrew McIntyre

M.S. Biology

Research: Forest thinning treatments and their effects on local amphibian populations in the Lassen National Forest.

Community Ecology
andrew.mcintyre@wsu.edu


Niall MillarNiall Millar

Ph.D. Plant Biology

Research: Plant-soil-insect interactions, mutualisms, the past and future patterns of evolution of plants and microbes, and how climate change and land management can affect how these organisms interact.

Microbial Ecology
niall.millar@wsu.edu


Chelsea MitchellChelsea Mitchell

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences (Puyallup)

Research: Environmental risk assessment using population modeling to estimate the dynamics of toxicant risk to endangered species across space and time.

Ecotoxicology Program
chelsea.mitchell@wsu.edu


Angeliqua MontoyaAngeliqua Montoya

Ph.D. Biology

Research: Genetics that code for cooperative traits in bacterial symbionts, mutualisms, and plant-microbe interactions.

Stephanie Porter Lab
angeliqua.montoya@wsu.edu


Nicolette NelsonNicolette Nelson

Ph.D. Biology

Research: The ability of montane wetland restoration to benefit amphibian populations.

Community Ecology
nicolette.nelson@wsu.edu


Samantha NeufferSamantha Neuffer

Ph.D. Molecular Biosciences

Zebrafish Pigment Cell Biology
samneuffer@wsu.edu


Jeff NielsonJeffrey Nielson

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Jeff is interested in internal waves and mixing in lakes. He is currently finding that a simple model, based on an entrainment-velocity closure, can be used to predict observed thickening of near-bed mixed layers, which will allow the prediction of rates of irreversible boundary layer mixing. His research is funded by the National Science Foundation.

Environmental Hydrodynamics
jeffrey.nielson@wsu.edu


Jake PenningtonJacob Pennington

M.S. Mathematics 

Research: Computational neuroscience. Currently working with data from ferret primary auditory cortex to study nonlinear auditory encoding models. Future work will likely focus on implementing generalized leaky integrate-and-fire models in neuromorphic hardware.

Quantitative Neuroscience
jacob.pennington@wsu.edu 


Dylan QuinnDylan Quinn

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Post-fire Hydrology and Numerical Surface Water Modeling. Focused on post-fire soil recovery and the ecohydrological evolution after wildfire disturbances. 

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Landscape Dynamics
dylan.quinn@wsu.edu


Luke ReyesLuke Reyes

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research: Using stable isotopes to study chemical cycling in the critical zone, especially the transformations and fate of soil carbon in response to climate change.

Environmental Chemistry
luke.reyes@wsu.edu


Salvador Robb-ChavezSalvador Robb-Chavez

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Aquatic invasive species in the Columbia River, specifically the habitat association characteristics of the Asian clam Corbicula fluminea and local monitoring efforts for other invasive bivalves. 

Aquatic Ecology and Biological Oceanography
sbchavez@wsu.edu


Vanessa RoseVanessa Rose

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Research: Examining the interactive effects of elevated nutrient levels and zooplankton grazing on cyanobacteria blooms across a range of eutrophication in four Washington freshwater lakes.

Aquatic Ecology
vanessa.rose@wsu.edu


Corey RuderCorey Ruder

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences

Global Change and Biogeochemistry
corey.ruder@wsu.edu


Olga Rumyantseva

Ph.D. Mathematics

Mathematical Ecology and Environmental Modeling
olga.rumyantseva@wsu.edu


Alex Stambor

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Environmental Chemistry
alex.stambor@wsu.edu


Kathryn SweeneyKathryn Sweeney

M.S. Environmental Science

Research: Exploring the dynamics of harmful cyanobacterial blooms in the Columbia River Basin. My work may focus on researching the roles of Rotifera zooplankton related to the frequency and intensity of harmful cyanobacterial blooms.

Aquatic Ecology Lab
kathryn.sweeney@wsu.edu


Katie SwensenKatherine Swensen

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Sciences

Research: Studying effects of recurrent wildfire on soil-plant-water interactions in montane forested ecosystems.

Hydrology, Ecohydrology and Natural Resource Sciences
k.swensen@wsu.edu


Jude WaitJude Wait

Ph.D. Environmental and Natural Resources Science

Research: Resilience of small-scale food farming in urbanizing regions. Specifically, how management practices and socioeconomic strategies of small-scale farmers affect the capacity of direct-market farms to produce food sustainably.

Urban Systems and Agroecology
judith.wait@wsu.edu